Other NYC photos

These didn’t make it to Flickr due to the randomness. On the morning of Saturday, June 5, before meeting couseen Mary for the Mets game, I took the Staten Island Ferry so I could get into Manhattan and meander about Times Square to see what’s changed.

The iconic ferry photo as the other boat passed us…

When I got to the old ‘hood, I called Shawn at home in NH and asked him to Google the URL for the Times Square webcam. We cell phone-chatted while he could see me via the live stream on his computer.

Shawn’s screenshot of me waving at him/the webcam…

My photo of the webcam while I talked to Shawn… it’s mounted on the wall up there…

A close-up…

And another one…

By the way, Times Square is looking great, especially since they added the pedestrian malls which make life a lot easier…

A trip back to the old ‘hood isn’t complete without a visit to my and Gary’s theatre alley…

This is the Broadway alley that we snuck through one morning in ’89 after we got off our midnight proofreading shift…

Through the green doors on the left is another alley that connects to three Broadway stage doors. That smaller alley has a series of fire escapes, each with a view straight up to the sky. In ’89, the green doors were open and we climbed one of the fire escapes, and since nobody was around at 7:30 that morning, we whiled-away a few hours up there, daydreaming of Broadway theatres and vaudeville history…

I almost pushed the button so I could get back in there again, but without Gary it wouldn’t be the same…

Since NYC, I’m backed-up on uploading Flickr photos—but coming soon will be pix of our June fun… the Seacoast Irish Festival in Dover, NH… the oceans of roses at Fuller Gardens in North Hampton, NH… Kevin’s 17th birthday… the sand sculpting competition at Hampton Beach, NH… and Woodstock, VT (not NY), including the Billings Farm and Museum.

Leave a Reply

